Home » Questions » Computers [ Ask a new question ]

Version control for images

Version control for images

When working with images, I tend to start saving things as image_001.png and image_002.png for different versions of the same image. Being a programmer, I know that that isn't really a good way to do version control. I realize that there are some tools that I could use to do this such as git, but there is no simple way to view the history of a file using such a tool.

Asked by: Guest | Views: 118
Total answers/comments: 4
Guest [Entry]

"If it's single user I can highly recommend FileHamster. Every time you save the file it creates a revision, and you can roll back as far as you've set your history to go.

Of course, with large images this can take an awful lot of space (but you can purge it once you're finished with the file)."
Guest [Entry]

"The way I would do it would be to get a program that could compare two images, and then just use a regular source control tool like Subversion.

Popular clients for Subversion, like TortoiseSVN can be configured to use different programs to compare two versions of specific file types, so you could easily set it up to use that image-comparison program for .png files.

But then I'm a programmer, not an artist or designer."
Guest [Entry]

Aperture (Mac-only) and Photoshop Lightroom (Mac/Windows) both support version control of images.
Guest [Entry]

"You don't mention if you're working by yourself or on a team... assuming the former (and this technically works for the latter, just not as well) get a DropBox account. It handles back versions of all the files you store, you're account is only dinged for the space taken by the ""current"" version, and it gives you an off-site backup.

Plus, as a sole developer who is constantly bouncing from my laptop to my desktop, its been a God-send in keeping everything in sync.

I should also mention that it's a hell of a lot easier to set up and use than SVN et al.

The free account gets you 2GB of space, and you can pay for more space if needed.*

*As noted in the comment, DropBox has changed their policies a little since I first posted my answer. I can't seem to find a related notice in the blog, but this is the text of the e-mail I got:

The Dropbox team has been hard at work
these past few months and we'd like to
tell you about some upcoming changes
and enhancements to the Dropbox
service.

We're Changing Undo History Did you
know that Dropbox automatically:

* Safeguards any files you delete in case you need to undelete them
* Saves old file versions in case you need to go back to them later


It's like having ""undo"" for all your
files and folders.

Today, Dropbox keeps these deleted
files and old file versions (""undo
history"") forever. For many people
this creates clutter, and it also
wastes space.

Because of this, beginning August 1st,
our new policy will be to keep 30 days
of undo history. However, if you
prefer, you can choose to have
unlimited undo history at no cost.

Please choose one of the following links:

I want unlimited undo history

or

30 days of undo history is all I need

iPhone App Almost Here! In addition to
this change to undo history, in the
near future we'll be releasing our
free iPhone app that will allow you to
access your Dropbox on the go, view
your files, save them to your phone,
and even take photos that sync
instantly to your Dropbox!

Performance Improvements and LAN Sync
In addition to the iPhone app, we're
also finishing up a new version of the
Dropbox desktop software that features
numerous performance improvements and
our new ""LAN sync"" feature. LAN sync
knows when Dropboxes are on the same
network and will automatically
exchange files directly between
computers instead of downloading them
from our servers - this makes sharing
large files in an office environment
much faster than was previously
possible.

We've received great feedback from
many of our users and are working on a
lot of the stuff you've been asking
for. Stay tuned and happy Dropboxing!

Thanks for using Dropbox!
- The Dropbox Team

There's no indication from the e-mail that this option is only for paying members, but there's no indication that it isn't either. FWIW, I went with the paid option and have never looked back. Uses for DropBox are numerous - to include version control for my personal projects - and you'll be surprised how fast you run through 2GB... I'll stop the Ad now. :)"