Home » Articles » Finance / Wealth

State of Arizona Exemption Laws

State of Arizona Exemption Laws
"""When people are confronted with the prospect of filing for bankruptcy, they frequently fear they will lose their home and all of their possessions, which will be sold to the highest bidder and used to pay off their creditors. Fortunately, this is not the case, and you do not have to begin your new existence after bankruptcy with nothing. This is owing to state exemption laws regarding bankruptcy. This indicates that certain properties are protected from creditors. State exemption laws vary, with some being more generous than others. Since the 2004 amendments, Arizona's exemption laws have become substantially more liberal.

So, which properties in Arizona are exempt? The code lists numerous items, spanning from funeral deposits to typewriters. This section will focus on what I perceive to be the most vital necessities.

One homestead may be claimed as exempt and valued at up to $150,000. The exemption is granted automatically, and no written claim is required. Only valid for primary residences. Prior to the 2004 revisions, the maximum value of a home was limited to $100,000.

Vehicles - A single person may retain one vehicle with a maximum value of $5,000, or $10,000 if the debtor is disabled. A married couple may retain one vehicle each with a maximum value of $5,000, or one vehicle with a combined value of $10,000. Prior to the 2004 revisions, the maximum value for a vehicle exemption was $1,500; therefore, the 2004 revisions significantly increased the maximum value.

Beds, tables, recliners, televisions, etc., with a maximum value of $4,000 for a single individual and $8,000 for a married couple, are included in the household goods allowance.

Wedding bands - Wedding bands are exempt from sales tax up to $1,000 each. This is an appraisal value, although it may sound low. Consider the value of your ring by bringing it to a pawn store to see how much you could get. You may be mildly dissatisfied, but you will be pleased that you get to keep it!

Cash - On the day you file for bankruptcy, you may have no more than $150 for a single individual and $300 for a married couple in your bank account. The excess will be confiscated and distributed to creditors.""

" - https://www.affordablecebu.com/
 

Please support us in writing articles like this by sharing this post

Share this post to your Facebook, Twitter, Blog, or any social media site. In this way, we will be motivated to write articles you like.

--- NOTICE ---
If you want to use this article or any of the content of this website, please credit our website (www.affordablecebu.com) and mention the source link (URL) of the content, images, videos or other media of our website.

"State of Arizona Exemption Laws" was written by Mary under the Finance / Wealth category. It has been read 138 times and generated 0 comments. The article was created on and updated on 03 June 2023.
Total comments : 0